Student Feature – Diane Kim

Diane KimDiane Kim

M.S. Civil Engineering, Civil Systems

Expected EDC Certificate Completion: Fall 2016

Undergraduate: University of Oklahoma, B.S. Civil Engineering

What are your hobbies outside of academic life?

I love to travel internationally any chance I can get, but since I’m living on a college grad’s salary, I resort to much cheaper hobbies such as exploring the outdoors, cooking, and being an avid movie junkie. Since moving to Colorado, I look forward to discovering new exciting hobbies like skiing/snowboarding and backpacking!

How did you become interested in global development?

I have always had a fascination for different cultures and traditions across the globe even at a very young age, being from a Korean-American family myself. After travelling internationally, my interest continued to grow, and I started learning about the enormous gaps between the rich and poor and how all aspects of life are affected by this disparity. I also went on church service trips where I saw the burdens of poverty first hand. Through these experiences I have developed a passion for global development and how I can be a positive impact in closing the gaps in development.

Why did you join the EDC program?

My goal is to be able to use my civil engineering skills and knowledge as effectively as possible to address issues surrounding global development. The EDC program allows me to incorporate my technical background with humanistic approaches to build sustainable development through relevant coursework and applied field experience.

What has been the most valuable thing you’ve learned from the EDC program?

The thing that has stood out to me the most is that context is everything. Not only is every country different, but every community within that country is unique, and all development approaches must be tailored to the specific needs of the local community.

Where do you hope to complete your practicum?

I hope to fulfill my practicum somewhere in the Southeast region of Asia during Summer 2016. I am interested in the water and sanitation sector of development; however, I am open to other areas such as disaster relief/prevention or resilient building design.

What do you hope to do after completing your EDC certificate?

Upon graduating I plan to work in international development full-time, working with non-governmental organizations or government agencies committed to bringing economic and social justice through global access to civil infrastructure.

Leave a Reply

