Student Feature – Roxanne Reimer

Roxanne ReimerRoxanne Reimer

M.S. Civil Engineering, Environmental Engineering

Expected EDC Certificate Completion: May 2016

Undergraduate: Bethel College, Mathematical Sciences

What are your hobbies outside of academic life?

Hiking, reading, baking and cooking.

How did you become interested in global development?

I had a great experience living in Guatemala during a study abroad program. Then when I had a semester during my undergrad when I had extra credits and didn’t need to take any courses I chose to go back with a development organization. Living and working in a small rural community there was an amazing experience and I decided that international work was something I wanted to consider as a career option.

Why did you join the EDC program?

I had already decided that I would like to work in development and having a strong mathematical background it made a lot of sense to combine my strengths with my passions. I felt the EDC program was a good step to take in doing that.

What has been the most valuable thing you’ve learned from the EDC program?

I think one of the most valuable thing the EDC program provides is resources to work in the field. That comes in many forms including connections with professors and development professionals, knowledge about different organizations and their work, and technical skills.

Where did you complete your practicum?

I did my practicum near Iquitos, Peru with an organization called CONAPAC. While there, I and a team of three other CU students conducted focus groups in small rural communities along the Amazon and Napo rivers to learn about their management of small scale water treatment plants CONAPAC had installed.

What do you hope to do after completing your EDC certificate?

After graduating I hope to find meaningful employment in the development field and potentially even live and work abroad.

Leave a Reply

